We look forward to considering your original, unpublished works of poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, and visual art. 

The Tishman Review will publish two issues a year: April and October. The issues will be 30% larger than a quarterly issue, up to 190 pages from 145 (on average). 

Submissions of fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction will be open for:

April 2019 issue: June 1 to July 31, 2018 AND October 30, 2018 to February 15, 2019

October 2019 issue: April 30, 2019 to August 15, 2019

ESVM Poetry contest open October 1, 2018 to November 15, 2018 with publication in April 2019.

TOSSA Fiction contest open April 1, 2019 to May 30, 2019 with publication in October 2019.

Art submissions open year-round.

Fee free submissions open for every reading period. Please follow us on Twitter @tishmanreview and Facebook for the announcement.

Please read our Submission Guidelines on our website before submitting to The Tishman Review. You must remove any identifying information on your manuscript and in your file name. 

Your submission will be automatically rejected if it contains biographical data in the manuscript.

Please only include a cover letter in the Comments Section area on Submittable. In the cover letter, please share with us the corresponding page numbers (for poetry).

Our co-founding editors are committed to producing a journal that reflects the diversity of humanity. Please feel free to share your gender/race/ethnicity/socioeconomic background to assist us in this task, though you are not expected to do so. The cover letter will be viewed only by the co-founding editors and only in the last phase of the consideration process.

Please allow 9 months to submit poetry and prose again after publication in TTR.

If you need us to open your submission for editing, please send a request to: thetishmanreview@gmail.com. 

Please remember that we are a small non-profit, all-volunteer literary journal. 

The Tishman Review pays all of our text contributors, according to the genre. Poems are paid on a sliding scale between $10 and 25$ per poem. Prose is paid a minimum of $10.00 for a piece under 1000 words and for a piece over 1000 words at .01 cents per word. We pay 75$ for cover art and $10.00 for each piece published in the interior of the magazine. 

Our contributors receive:

  1. Cash payment
  2. One complimentary print copy to US address
  3. One year E-book subscription
  4. Complimentary advertising in TTR of recently-released books

We pay our contributors through PayPal and Venmo only.  We do not MAIL CHECKS, no exceptions.

You will need to provide an email address in which to receive a PayPal payment or Venmo payment info. We do not participate in PayPal Me. 

We buy First Electronic Publication Rights, Non-exclusive print-on-demand rights to the work in the issue the work first appears in, and Archival rights only in the form the work first appears in The Tishman Review, with the copyright reverting back to the author upon publication. We do not buy the right to publish the work in an anthology or a different issue. We reserve the right to keep any work we publish. Should a piece first published in The Tishman Review be reprinted in another work, we request the later publication include an acknowledgment of The Tishman Review.

Our journal is available in three formats: online, e-book, and print-on-demand.

Please allow 90 days for a response.


2019 Biannual Print subscription. April and October 2019.

E-Book Subscriptions also available.

Single print copy of latest issue sent to US Address or International Address, select accordingly.

We are always on the lookout for those interesting pieces you came up with late one night, or the photos you took because you couldn't stop looking at something with all its crazy curves and textures.  We'll consider all mediums - photos, paintings, pencil drawings, pen and ink, charcoal - as well as cartoons.

Submissions must be adaptable to accommodate the space - so please send us your work with a minimum 300 ppi. If submitting for interior art, we are primarily interested in black and white images. You can submit pieces in color for interior art, but they must translate well into a black and white format. Send up to 8 images in one submission. Remember that if you are submitting work for the cover, that the work must be in a portrait orientation.  

Our issues are created in PDF, e-book, and Print-On-Demand versions.

NOTE: If you send multiple submissions, there will likely be a two to three issue lag time between publication of multiple accepted pieces. We do however sometimes run two or more pieces by the same artist in a single issue. 

Please remember that we are a small, new literary journal and can only pay token to semi-professional rates for all contributions. We also archive our issues, including making the pod and e-book available in the future.

The Tishman Review